hereirawr

Women on the Spectrum RAWRing for Quality of Life

Not In Love With Julia

Great review of Sesame Street’s new approach to autism (Julia, the new muppet, website materials, stories and videos). It needs some significant work to truly be empowering to spectrum kids. Excellent breakdown, all they need to do is follow her advice…

Erin Human

Everyone might be tired of hearing about Sesame Street’s new autistic muppet by the time I post this, but before I wrote up a full review I had to make my way through all of the materials at the “Sesame Street and Autism” site. I watched all of the videos, either when the kids weren’t around or with headphones while they were otherwise occupied, because I wanted to screen them first before I let them view of it – and, yes, it is weird to have to screen Sesame Street, of all things, for harmful messaging, but such is the state of the mainstream dialogue on autism that I knew there were likely to be some things I would not want my kids to see or hear. And there were.

What is Sesame Street and Autism?

First, a brief explanation of what Sesame Street and Autism is and isn’t. There’s been…

View original post 2,606 more words

Single Post Navigation

Please do RAWR away, we love comments!

